(students can provide their own gun or use one of ours)
(After two years of having your permit this refresher class is 2 hours on the range)
(After four years of having your permit this renewal class is 4 hours including range time)
Students must bring hearing and eye protection.
Students must bring 100 rounds of factory fresh ammunition.
Gun Rental is available for FREE in multiple calibers, call or email for availability.
Cogent fingerprinting fee: $44.00.
Department of Public Safety initial application fee: $56.00.
Department of Public Safety renewal application fee: $75.00.
Cogent fingerprinting fee: $8.30.
Department of Public Safety initial application fee: $0.
Department of Public Safety renewal application fee: $0.
Students must be present during entire course.
Students must pass range qualification with 15 rounds at 3 yards, and 10 rounds at 7 yards. Must achieve a minimum of 72%. (Target is 12X18).
Students must qualify with a 32 caliber or higher.
During your qualification you must demonstrate your handgun competency with each type of handgun for which you wish to be licensed (semi-auto/non semi-auto).
Due to the limited spots each class has available, we do not refund
payments for any reason upon cancellation of a class. If student provides
14 days notice of cancellation, they may transfer payment
to a future class.
The department shall issue a concealed handgun license to an applicant who:
Is a resident of New Mexico or is a member of the armed forces whose permanent
duty station is located in New Mexico or is a dependent of such a member; Is
twenty-one (21) years of age or older for civilians; Is not a fugitive from justice;
Has not been convicted of a felony in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the
laws of the United States or any other jurisdiction; Is not currently under indictment
for a felony criminal offense in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the laws of
the United States or any other jurisdiction; Is not otherwise prohibited by federal law
or the law of any other jurisdiction from purchasing or possessing a firearm;
Has not been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution;
Is not addicted to alcohol or controlled substances; and Has satisfactorily completed
a firearms training course approved by the department for the category and the largest
caliber of handgun that the applicant wants to be licensed to carry as a concealed handgun.
Firearms training course instructors who are approved by the department shall not be required
to complete the firearms training course described here.
The department shall deny a concealed handgun license to an applicant who has: Received
a conditional discharge, a diversion or a deferment or who has been convicted of, pled guilty to or
entered a plea of nolo contendere to a misdemeanor offense involving a crime of violence within ten
years immediately preceding the application; Been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving
driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs within five years immediately
preceding the application for a concealed handgun license; Been convicted of a misdemeanor offense
involving the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within ten years immediately preceding
the application; or Been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving assault, battery or battery
against a household member. Rap Back is a continuous criminal record monitoring service used to obtain
criminal records checks. Example of Rap Back for CCW license holders: If you get arrested for a
disqualifying offense, your arrest information will automatically be submitted to the CCW program.
You will need to contact the CCW office and surrender your license. Upon conviction, your license my
be suspended and/or revoked. Upon disposition, your license may be reinstated.